Posted on 1 Comment

Where the American flag flies continuously, by law or presidential proclamation

Eight. The answer is eight.

It’s a popular trivia question—a bit of a trick question, actually. How many places does the U.S. flag fly continuously in the United States? By law or presidential proclamation, the United States flag flies continuously in eight locations around the country. In chronological order of this honor, they are:


Fort McHenry Fort McHenry National Monument and Historic Shrine

Baltimore, Maryland

(Presidential Proclamation No.2795, July 2, 1948).




Flag_House,_844_East_Pratt_&_Albemarle_Streets_(Baltimore,_Independent_City,_Maryland) Flag House Square

Albemarle and Pratt Streets, Baltimore Maryland

(Public Law 83-319, approved March 26, 1954).




800px-USMC_War_Memorial_Sunset_Parade_2008-07-08 United States Marine Corp Memorial (Iwo Jima)                      

Arlington, Virginia

(Presidential Proclamation No.3418, June 12, 1961).





Battle_Green,_Lexington_(Dudesleeper)On the Green of the Town of Lexington

Lexington, Massachusetts

(Public Law 89-335, approved November 8, 1965).




whitehouse_front The White House

Washington, DC.

(Presidential Proclamation No.4000, September 4.1970).





Washington Monument

Washington, D.C.

(Presidential Proclamation No.4064, July 6,1971, effective July 4, 1971

Fifty Flags of the United States are displayed continuously at the Washington Monument.




Port of Houston United States Customs Ports of Entry 

which are continually open

Port of Houston shown

(Presidential Proclamation No.4131, May 5, 1972)






National Memorial Arch, Valley Forge Grounds of the National Memorial Arch in Valley Forge State Park

Valley Forge, Pennsylvania

(Public Law 94-53, approved July 4, 1975).

1 thought on “Where the American flag flies continuously, by law or presidential proclamation

  1. What about the moon

Leave a Reply