Posted on 5 Comments

Designated Flag Flying Days from the U.S. Flag Code

There are eighteen (18) twenty-one (21) days each year designated as “official” flag flying days by the U.S. Flag Code. The list has evolved over the years to include newer holidays, but this is the official list.

(d) The flag should be displayed on all days, especially on …

  • New Year’s Day, January 1
  • Inauguration Day, January 20
  • Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday, third Monday in January
  • Lincoln’s Birthday, February 12
  • Washington’s Birthday, third Monday in February
  • Easter Sunday (variable)
  • Mother’s Day, second Sunday in May
  • Peace Officers Memorial Day, May 15 (half-staff all day)
  • Armed Forces Day, third Saturday in May
  • Memorial Day (half-staff until noon), the last Monday in May
  • Flag Day, June 14
  • Independence Day, July 4
  • Labor Day, first Monday in September
  • Patriot Day, September 11 (half-staff all day)
  • Constitution Day, September 17
  • Columbus Day, second Monday in October
  • Navy Day, October 27
  • Veterans Day, November 11
  • Thanksgiving Day, fourth Thursday in November
  • National Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day, December 7 (half-staff all day)
  • Christmas Day, December 25
  • and such other days as may be proclaimed by the President of the United States; the birthdays of States (date of admission); and on State holidays.

5 thoughts on “Designated Flag Flying Days from the U.S. Flag Code

  1. […] Section 6 of the U.S. Flag Code addresses the Time and Occasions for Display. In this section the Flag Code names the particular days the flag is to be flown—New Year’s Day, Washington’s Birthday, and others. I wrote about that in Designated Flag Flying Day from the US Flag Code. […]

  2. […] order, the U.S. Flag Code designates specific dates to fly the American flag at half-staff. Those days are listed here. These dates have historical significance, such as Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day, every year on […]

  3. Lowering the U.S. Flag

    Did you know that the law requires the U.S. flag be lowered in tribute on only a few days each year? Quite appropriately, one of these days is the observance of the National Fallen Firefighters Memorial Service.

    On October 16, 2001, President George W. Bush approved legislation requiring the U.S. flag to be lowered to half-staff on all Federal buildings to memorialize fallen firefighters. Public Law 107-51 requires this action to occur annually in conjunction with observance of the National Fallen Firefighters Memorial Service.

    Let your local media know that U.S. flags across the country will be lowered on Sunday, October 5, 2008. This includes the U.S. Capitol and the White House, as well as buildings in your local community.

    Remember to lower the U.S. flags at your home, fire department, and business. Encourage your local community to follow the Federal Government’s example. When you lower your flag this year, you will recognize the brave men and women who died protecting their communities from natural and manmade emergencies and disasters and those who carry on the proud tradition.

    You may also want to ask your state and local officials to include lowering the flag in a proclamation recognizing the brave men and women who made the ultimate sacrifice.


  5. […] I did some research on when the flag should be displayed, and was surprised to find there are 21 designated days: […]

Leave a Reply